Step into the Gap

My name is Amy and I am the first ever “gapper” here in Salford. For the next year, I will be part of the Step into the Gap programme, working at Just Youth. I am 22 and from Prescot on Merseyside. I am a total Geography geek! In July, I graduated from the University of Manchester with a Geography degree and I hope to be a secondary school Geography teacher.

I have been at Just Youth for a month now, and so far it has been nonstop! We have schools visiting our centre, as well as the team going out to various schools to do work. Just Youth have a great team, with volunteers from all over the world, living together and working together on various activities.

Being a part of Just Youth means that I live in community. There are seven volunteers, a Christian Brother and two Spiritan Priests, living in Libermann House, which is attached to the Just Youth centre – so it’s straight out of bed and into work! Living in community can teach you a lot. We have volunteers from Germany, Ireland, California, Sweden and the Philippines; so there are plenty of different cultures merging together really well. The volunteers have bonded well together. The other volunteers had been here six weeks before I came to Just Youth, and they were very welcoming which I was very happy about! We have now become like a mini family!

I’m really excited to be a part of the Step into the Gap programme. It’s the perfect chance for me to get experience with students and use all the skills that I have gained at University. It is also a chance to see the world on the overseas trip, something that my fellow volunteers are very jealous of! It is also a chance for me to make friends with people from all over the world, which I love. But most importantly, it gives me a chance to support the great work of CAFOD, something I am proud and honoured to do.

Leave a Reply

