Monthly Prayers – Friday 30th March

Hope you had a blessed and joyful Easter. Apologies for late posting of the prayers on the blog, but if you do get time after Easter please use them whenever suites your needs. The prayers can be read straight from the blog or clink on the link below to download a pdf version, which you can print.

Prayer sheet 300312

CAFOD PRAYERS for Friday 30th March 2012

Opening

 

Leader Lord, you are the Christed one, you are the Son of God;
All: We are not alone. 
Leader: We are safe in your arms, we can never be snatched away;
All: We are God’s people. 
Leader: Hold firm, take heart, God is our stronghold;
All: We are called to faith. 
Leader: Be brave, be holy, God is our justice;
All: We are called to hope. 
Leader: Be amazed, be joyful, God is our glory;
All: We are called to life.

 

Scripture     John 10:22-39

All:     May the Word of God be in our minds,

          on our lips, and in our hearts.

At that time the Feast of Dedication took place at Jerusalem. It was winter, and Jesus was walking in the temple, in the colonnade of Solomon. So the Jews gathered around him and said to him, “How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Christ, tell us plainly.”  Jesus answered them, “I told you, and you do not believe. The works that I do in my Father’s name bear witness about me, but you do not believe because you are not part of my flock.  My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.  I and the Father are one.”

The Jews picked up stones again to stone him.  Jesus answered them, “I have shown you many good works from the Father; for which of them are you going to stone me?”  The Jews answered him, “It is not for a good work that we are going to stone you but for blasphemy, because you, being a man, make yourself God.”  Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your Law, ‘I said, you are gods’?  If he called them gods to whom the word of God came — and Scripture cannot be broken — do you say of him whom the Father consecrated and sent into the world, ‘You are blaspheming’, because I said, ‘I am the Son of God’?  If I am not doing the works of my Father, then do not believe me; but if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.”  Again they sought to arrest him, but he escaped from their hands.

We pause to reflect on God’s word.

Prayers of Concern

Remembering the tender mercy of our God, we ask him for all our needs.

 

Closing Prayer   

“Going up to Jerusalem” by John Harvey, in “Eggs and Ashes”

Loving God, at this time,

we remember that going up to Jerusalem

cost Jesus his very life.

So we come before you,

conscious of the way religious words

and holy phrases

can slip so easily from our lazy lips

and our hardened hearts.

What do we really know

of your mountainous truth,

your rock-hard integrity,

the depth of your suffering

for love of us all?

Forgive us for the shallowness

of our faith

and the timidity of our following:

forgive us for the ready excuses

we make for going our own way

and claiming it as yours.

Turn us round again, we pray,

by your Holy Spirit,

active within us and among us.

Show us how to be open again

to your faithfulness

and to your freedom,

that we may live new lives

and be again bearers

of the seeds of the Kingdom.

We ask this in the name of Jesus, our Lord.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

