Carmel, CAFOD Salford’s new “Gapper”

CAFOD Salford is delighted to introduce you to Carmel, our new “Step into the Gap” volunteer. Before we say anymore, here is Carmel to introduce herself.

Hello! I’m Carmel, a new CAFOD ‘gapper’ at Just Youth in Salford. I’m originally from Prestwich and am pleased to return to the area after moving away to study music at Lancaster University, followed by a couple of ski seasons and summer camps. I’m really enjoying myself here – the work is very exciting (and so varied!) and living in community is a great experience. So far I have been working with various primary and high schools across the Manchester area, as well as helping to run a youth club here in Kersal. I feel very privileged helping the students to explore spirituality issues particularly social justice (I am finding lots of opportunities to relate what I am talking about to the amazing experience I had in Brazil with CAFOD this summer! Check out the next blog entry for my experiences in Brazil). I’m really looking forward to everything this year will bring.

To find out how you can spend a gap year volunteering for CAFOD why not visit the website:

http://www.cafod.org.uk/Education/CAFOD-Gap-year

Leave a Reply

