Monthly Prayers for October

CAFOD PRAYERS for Friday 25th Oct. 2013

 

Opening Prayer (All)

God be with me in this your day,

every day and every way,

with me and for me in this your day,

and the love and affection

of heaven be toward me,

and all who work within this place,

this day and every day,

ever and always.  Amen.

Adapted from Celtic Daily Prayer

 

Scripture Reading:  Romans 7:18-25

For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.  For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.  For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me.  For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me.  What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death?  Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!

 

Gospel Reading    From Luke Chapter 12

 

You fool! This very night, the demand will be made for your soul.

See that you are dressed and ready for action, and have your lamps lit.

If the householder had known at what hour the burglar would come, he would not have let anyone break through the wall of his house….. Stand ready.

I have come to bring fire to the earth.  Do you suppose that I am here to bring peace?

Jesus said to the crowds, “When you see a cloud looming up in the West, you say at once that rain is coming, and so it does.  And when the wind is from the South, you say it will be hot, and it is.  Hypocrites!  You know how to interpret the face of the earth and the sky.  How is that you do not know how to interpret these times?”

Prayer before the intercessions:

Father, forgive all that in each of us

is unprepared for Christ’s coming:

our insensitivity to others,

our ignoring of the stranger,

our lack of attention to your Word.

(David Adam)

Closing Blessing (All)

I bless you

in the name of the Father, the Son

and the sacred Spirit,

the One and the Three.

May God give you to drink of his cup;

may the sun be bright upon you;

may the night call down peace;

and, when you come to his household,

may the door be open wide

for you to go in to your joy.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

