Can you run a marathon?

As the New Year arrives and we start to look at CAFOD events coming up in the Spring, CAFOD supporter Thomas tells us why he ran the Chicago Marathon last year, and why this year it could be you turn to join Team CAFOD.

Spring is here and this year it can be your turn to run a marathon! I’ve been running for a few years now, and I’ve been involved with CAFOD through my local Parish activities, so last year I knew it was time to step it up to marathon level for CAFOD. There was something about the challenge of those 26 miles that I really wanted to achieve this year!

Training sometimes wasn’t easy, and it could be difficult to get out and about on those dark mornings, but it was fantastic to feel myself get fitter as I continued to reach my goals, and the CAFOD events team were always on hand with weekly fundraising ideas and training plans to keep you going and motivated. Whatever marathon you do, the CAFOD team ensure you’re supported on the way and you can reach your goal.
The runners’ community on the day of the marathon is fantastic and a huge crowd is guaranteed at a marathon so the atmosphere is brilliant. I found that the knowledge of what I was running for helped push me through the last few miles, and knowing that my months of hard work leading up to the day training, raising awareness for CAFOD and fundraising was finally paying off was very rewarding. The feeling of crossing the finish line was amazing, and quite emotional!

You don’t need to travel abroad to run for CAFOD this year! CAFOD are now recruiting for places for the Brighton on Sunday 6 April and the Yorkshire Marathon on 12 October.
Email the events team at cafodchallenge@cafod.org.uk or ring the events team on 020 7095 5329.

Leave a Reply

