Meet Kate in her Gapper’s Blog

My name is Kate Eastmond, I am 18 years old and have taken a gap year before university to volunteer for CAFOD working in the Diocese of Salford. My connection with CAFOD started about 6 years ago, through my local parish from there I did work experience at Romero House and before deciding what to study at University, I felt that I needed sometime away from education to pursue my own aspirations. And CAFOD’s “Step into the Gap” programme was the perfect thing for me.

As part of my year I am a volunteer youth worker for a local organisation called Just Youth in Salford. Where I am a chaplain at a school, and in my spare time teach English to Asylum Seekers and Refugees, I also help out at the local youth club. This year is giving me the opportunity to discover more about my faith, venture abroad and challenge myself.

IMG_2084.JPG

To find out how you could become a CAFOD Gapper, visit the CAFOD website:

http://www.cafod.org.uk/Education/CAFOD-Gap-year

Leave a Reply

