Can you be an education volunteer for CAFOD.

Meet Mike, A CAFOD Education Volunteer

Could you be an Education Volunteer with CAFOD?  Mike talks about his experiences volunteering:

‘I became an education volunteer with CAFOD when I retired from teaching and had more time on my hands. Having always worked in Catholic schools I was already aware of CAFOD’s work and felt I could use my skills to continue to “spread the word” and make a difference. I regularly deliver assemblies in my local schools and occasionally travel to school’s further away to explain our special projects and work with our youngsters in special workshops.

IMG_4077.PNG

Find out more about volunteering with CAFOD

‘Although spreading the news of the CAFOD’s work is the main focus; many of the youngsters take the initiative to raise funds themselves. One class organised a coffee morning, another pupil, touched by the refugee crisis, organised his own sponsored walk; raising over £100. It is very satisfying to see our children being motivated to take action themselves. I always enjoy adding “a bit extra” to the assemblies and during the Big Share Project; the children were “gobsmacked” when I brought out two large real fish with the 5 loaves. I kept the fish for 3 weeks; my wife wasn’t best pleased.’

For more information on volunteering with CAFOD, please email: salford@cafod.org.uk

Leave a Reply

