Join us on the 11th February to hear from Sister Yvonne about CAFOD’s work in Zambia

sister-yvonne-posterCome and meet Sister Yvonne Mwalula Mwila on the 11th February at All Saints.

You’ll hear Sister Yvonne speak of the incredible work that is achieved in Zambia, through CAFOD and CAFOD’s partners.

Sister Yvonne, and other Sisters in her order, work with people like Florence (pictured). They gave Florence tiny fish – the size of your thumb. They also taught her to build fish ponds and care for the growing fishes so that they became large enough to sell. And that income meant Florence could buy school books and clothes for her children.

Here’s a quick insight into what you will hear on the 11th February.

sr-yvone“My names are Yvonne Mwalula Mwila, born in Chingola, Zambia. I am a Religious Sister in the Congregation of the Sisters of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary.

As a young girl I always wanted to become a sister because I was very inspired by the works that the sisters were doing in my home town. They opened my eyes to the greatest poverty, sicknesses (during the highlight of the HIV Pandemic) and just the great suffering that was very near to where I lived.

Currently I am still working in Zambia. I have been in Mbala, Zambia now for 9 years working in the Households In Distress Programme for 8 years.

I have really enjoyed my time in Mbala, it is my second home. I have worked from the remote places of Mbala district by setting up a community school with support from CAFOD, Misran Cara and my Sisters. Changing lives and providing small windows of opportunities for children with disabilities have been my greatest passion.”

We look forward to welcoming you on the 11th February at All Saints, to hear from Sister Yvonne.

Leave a Reply

