Sophie reflects on her year as a Gapper

In this blog we hear from Sophie, one of Salford’s wonderful gappers, as she comes to the end of her year-long placement with CAFOD.

 

“This year has been such an enjoyable and unforgettable year by far.

Volunteering for CAFOD has given me such wide perspective on life.  I have developed my leadership skills and self confidence by campaigning for CAFOD and sharing the stories of the people I encountered overseas in Ethiopia.  Being able to go overseas and see the work that CAFOD do has just been my highlight of the year and it has been a privilege to be able to tell people, especially CAFOD supporters, about it, letting them know that what they are doing is really making a positive difference to our brothers and sisters across the world.sophie end ofyear.png

I have become so close with the other gappers over the year, making strong relationships and unforgettable memories that I will treasure forever.  This year has truly enriched me and guided me to what vocation I want to do in life.  I am now off to Lancaster University to study Social Work.

Even though the Step into the Gap programme for this year is coming to an end, I will still continue to be a CAFOD Supporter, putting my faith into action for social justice.

I would like to thank CAFOD Salford for making me feel truly welcome and for all their dedication and hard work.  I would also like to give a huge thank you to all the schools I have met through talking about my overseas visit.

I wish everyone reading this a lovely summer and may God bless you on your journey.”

Inspired by Sophie’s experiences? Find out more about the Step into the Gap programme.

2 thoughts on “Sophie reflects on her year as a Gapper

Leave a Reply

